MINUTES

1997-98 ANNUAL MEETING OF THE BOARD UNIVERSITY OF SOUTHERN INDIANA BOARD OF TRUSTEES

July 11, 1997

The University of Southern Indiana Board of Trustees met in annual and regular sessions on Friday, July 11, 1997 in the Conference Center of the New Harmony Inn in New Harmony, Indiana. Present were Trustees Bruce Baker, Louise Bruce, Charles Combs, Tina Kern, Thomas McKenna, Brian Pauley, Harolyn Torain, and James Will Sr. Also attending were President H. Ray Hoops; Vice Presidents John Byrd, Robert Reid, Richard Schmidt, and Sherrianne Standley; and Faculty Senate Chair Connie Cooper.

There being a quorum present, Mr. Baker called the annual meeting to order at 2:30 p.m..

Mrs. Standley took the roll call, and read the notice of the annual meeting and the minutes of the 1996-97 annual meeting. There were no changes. On a motion by Mrs. Kern, seconded by Mr. Will, the 1996-97 annual meeting minutes were approved.

Nominating Committee chair, Mr. McKenna, reported that the nominating committee on which he, Mrs. Bruce, and Mr. Will served, has submitted the following slate of officers for the 1997-98 year:

The committee has been guided by the statement pertaining to leadership of the Board and continuity and change, first adopted by the Trustees in 1986, and requests that the statement be entered into minutes of this annual meeting.

"It is the sense of the nominating committee that the leadership of the officers of the Board of Trustees should be balanced between the elements of continuity and change -- continuity to provide a kind of stability in the officership of the Board; change to take advantage of the talents of the several members of the Board."

"To that end, without establishing maximum terms of office for any officer position of the Board, it is recommended that, at each annual election of officers, the Board consciously consider the values both of continuity and change for each officer position and of the development of new leadership among the Board and the University officers."

Mr. Baker called for other nominations from the floor. There being none, he declared the nominations closed. On a motion by Mr. Will, seconded by Mr. McKenna, the nominating committee slate <u>was approved.</u>

Mr. Baker expressed his appreciation to the Board for the opportunity to serve as chair. He then passed the gavel to newly elected chair Harolyn Torain.

Mrs. Torain reappointed Richard Schmidt as Treasurer and Sherrianne Standley as Assistant Secretary.

Mrs. Torain appointed Thomas McKenna, Louise Bruce, and Brian Pauley to serve on the Long-Range Planning Committee, with Bruce Baker as chair.

Mrs. Torain appointed Percy Clark, Tina Kern, and James Will Sr. to serve on the Finance Committee, with Charles Combs as chair.

Mrs. Torain appointed Louise Bruce, Tina Kern, and Bruce Baker to serve on the USI Foundation for the 1996-97 year, and Thomas McKenna, Brian Pauley and James Will Sr. to serve on the USI-New Harmony Foundation.

Mr. McKenna noted that he would offer a resolution in appreciation for the services of Mr. Baker to be included in the July agenda.

On a motion by Mr. Will, seconded by Mr. McKenna, the annual meeting of the University of Southern Indiana Board of Trustees was adjourned at 2:45 p.m.